Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 44 mag checks???

Default 44 mag checks???

Swapped for a super backhawk, should i order a gass hecked bullet mould or the tumble lube mould frme lee??
    Toney Relic Hunter

Hi Toney, neither if you ask me.
    I had terrible leading with the TL430-240 from LEE, as well as key-holing in one gun with shallow grooves; and GC is not necessary from my experience, unless the chambers are not reasonably in line with the barrel or the bullet is roughened up in some other way.

What I did one year ago was to buy the C430-310-RF from LEE with the idea to shorten it to 280something and get rid of the GC part; well I am still not done as I have to do it by hand , this shouldn't be a problem for you as I remember you got tools.
    I've been lubing my revolver bullets by hand for a couple of years now and it's not that bad, actually less messy than pan lubing.

kg

Do you want to plink, hunt, and/or shoot silhouettes with it? Cylinder throats can vary from chamber to chamber and can cause some problems with boolits that would not be an issue with jacketed. Check them out first and see how big they are and if they are all the same size. I think that you will only need to consider gas checks for hunting and silhouette competition, applications where you want to get higher velocity and use heavier boolits. For most plinking and paper targets, low vel, low pressure loads it's a matter of experimenting for the best boolit/lube combination that your revolver shoots well, and a pb boolit is really all you need. I have never owned a TL mould, but I use Liquid Alox for all my cast shooting and have no complaints so far. I think I would lean toward the C429-240-SWC as I know it will perform well if it's big enough in diameter for the revolver. You don't necessarily have to put a GC on it for decent results, either.
    "Stand your ground.
    Do not fire unless fired upon.
    But if they mean to have a war let it begin here."