Thread: Reduced Loads in .303 Kapok???

GunLoad Trainee

Question Reduced Loads in .303 Kapok???

Hi all. I am new to reloading cast in rifles but have several old Military I want to play with. Just picked up the newest Lyman Cast Bullet manual to update from my early 80's version. I am going to load a Montana 200 gr. and am looking at a start load of only about 11gr of Unique. The old manual goes into great depth about the need for a filler of Kapok or Cream of Wheat, etc. The new manual does not mention this factor at all??? What's the deal on this? Have practices changed? Seem like something of this import would not be left out but I sure can't find any mention in the new source.
    THX
    Dan

Wise

When it comes to Cream of Wheat (COW) don't walk, run away. If you use enough to hold the powder in place it will compact and literally become a solid. I was using it for a very nice load in my 45-70 until I had a misfire. Dunno if the primer was contaminated or was bad from the factory. When I got home I pulled the bullet expecting the COW and powder to just pour out. No go. That COW was as hard as a rock and I had to use a small screwdriver to dig it outof the shell. Imagine having that compaction in a bottleneck cartridge and the potentially very high pressure that would ensue. Later on, I loaded up some more rounds for the 45-70 using a one grain tuft of Dacron and when I ran these over the chronograph, I found I'd lost a bit over 100 FPS. The powder I was using was SR4759, a very good powder for cast bullets.