Thread: newbe reloader question

GunLoad Trainee

Cool newbe reloader question

Hi folks, silly question, and i am still studying and new at reloading. But, what weighs the most in everyone's train of thought as to which order of ingredents gives the fastest and best reciepe for reloads? one for 9mm target loads and one for 45 target@230 grn and one @ 45 JHP.
    Last edited by tlhorne; 08-27-2011 at 04:38 PM.

i use a medium slow powder that fills the case well and don't beat the gun up.
    something like unique in the 45.
    and if using cast i go with a slow for cal powder.
    going fast ain't really on my mind.
    safety is.

Wise

Quote Originally Posted by tlhorne View Post
    Hi folks, silly question, and i am still studying and new at reloading. But, what weighs the most in everyone's train of thought as to which order of ingredents gives the fastest and best reciepe for reloads? one for 9mm target loads and one for 45 target@230 grn and one @ 45 JHP.
    Well, no question is silly or stupid for that matter. Sometimes it can be difficult to give a proper answer though. Several powders work quite well in the two cartridges you're asking about. Bullseye, W231 and Unique immediately come to mind. Bullseye was the original powder for the .45 ACP with 230 gr. FMJ bullet as specified by the military. Five grains seems to stick in my mind for some reason but that may not be right.
    My person choice for 9MM and .45 ACP has been Unique, but since I was given 9 pounds of W231 I'm going to try that one in both cartridges. I use it a lot in .38 Spl. as well.