Thread: Cast bullit hardness.

GunLoad Trainee

Default Cast bullit hardness.

I am new to BP cartridge shooting and loading (and this forum) but a seasoned high power rifle handloader and certifiable rifle looney. My rifle is an 1884 trapdoor .45-70 with a new green mountain barrel screwed on it. I will be loading stricktly BP in the cartridges. At the moment I have a lee 500 gr mold. The mold might be 525 I don't remember so I will weigh the finnished product before I load them. From what I'm reading I should expect 1100+fps from them but don't quote me on that. I made my own bullet lube from 50% soy wax, 40% crisco and 10% canola oil. Pan lubing is the plan. What BHN should I be aiming for in my cast bullets?
    Endeavor to persevere: To exert oneself in an effort to persist in an undertaking in spite of counterinfluences, opposition, or discouragements.

Banned

BigOtto,
    Are you using a bare bottom bullet or a Gas checked one?
    I do not have a 45/70 but shoot a 71/84 (43 cal) Mauser with black powder.
    I have shot them grease groove and paper patched.
    Used to shoot almost pure lead until I talked to a 45/70 competation shooter and his answer was whatever he dug up out of the backstops.
    Told me he figured it came out to about 50/50 , lead/wheel weight.
    I enjoy the paper/patched bullets but no matter what I read it seems everyone has their own answer to groove , or land size.
    With BP it is supposed to bump up to groove size so try both land, groove size, bare bottom or gas checked and see which your rifle likes best.

beekeeper