Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: When is the best time to clean brass before depriming, resizing or after?

GunLoad Trainee

Default When is the best time to clean brass before depriming, resizing or after?

[B]I am a new to reloading and just getting started and wanted to know is it better to tumble and clean brass before you start the process of resizing and knocking out the old primer or after? The brass I am starting with is once shot .308 Hornady Match that is already very clean and in great condition. I used the Lee wax lube that came with my kit and wondered how do you get the wax off after you have deprimed and resized the brass?
    Any insight from one of you experienced reloaders wound be appreciated.
    Thanks[/B]

GunLoad Trainee DeanoBeanCounter's Avatar

1st, welcome.
    Next, I vote for cleaning before depriming. That way the flash holes don't get clogged and any dirt is gone before sizing.
    Dean

I don't clean my brass. I've been loading for almost 35 years and I never have, and never will. I take very good care of my brass and keep it out of the dirt, and I wipe each case with a rag before lubing/sizing.

I think cleaning cases can hide problems like incipient head seperation. This is a big concern for me as I load for and shoot many older milsurps that often have oversized chambers. I like to watch the brass for signs of trouble, and I can't do that if all the warning signs are erased in the tumbler.

But the biggest reason why I won't do it is because most methods of cleaning (except ultrasonic) put outrageous amounts of particulate lead into the air. It is the single greatest source of lead contamination for most of us, and that includes those who cast bullets. I cannot do that to myself and my kids. The more you know about lead and how it gets into your system, the less you want anything to do with cleaning cases.