PDA

View Full Version : Trail Boss Powder and Lee Auto Pro

gaston_r
11-14-2007, 10:01 PM
Hey guys,
I am an extreme newbie. So new in fact I haven't even purchased my press yet. My wife is getting it for my B-day present in December. I am getting a Lee Classic Turret. It comes with the Lee Pro Auto-Disk Powder Measure as well as the Lee Safety Prime and scales. I have been researching as well as reading The ABC's of Reloading 7th Edition. I have met a friend at my shooting club who is an experienced reloader and is helping me get started. I will be reloading .38 spec & .357 mag for my Ruger GP-100 4" and my Ruger Speed Six 2.5" (or there abouts). I am wanting to start really slowly and will be using the turret as a single stage for a while. I am not interested in hot rounds, just something economical and accurate enough to hit steel pates at 10-15 yards and fairly clean. I have been reading the dangers of double charging and came across this Trail Boss powder which is more volumous than other powders therefore easier to spot double charges. It also fills the case up more, possibly leading to more even ignition. This leads me to ask a few questions to you all.

Has anyone used it and how did you like it?

Is it indeed a clean burning powder?

What primer(s) do you recommend?

Which lead bullets does it like?

I found a VMD for the Auto Disk of .2172 per Grain searching on google. Does this sound right? The thread says they found on Lee's website but I was only able to pull an old chart from the direction section for the Auto-Disk. There is another section named VMD in the instructions, but it will not open - maybe they are updating it. Any information and comments will be greatly appreciated.

kg42
11-14-2007, 11:22 PM
Your "PAD" will come with a chart giving loads for each cavity; like the AD2302 download, but up to date with latest powders...