PDA

View Full Version : Lee Turret Question

gaston_r
11-08-2007, 04:38 AM
I am interested in reloading and am presently looking into getting a Lee Turret Deluxe. This website was very helpful http://www.realguns.com/archives/123.htm[/URL]. After researching it I have a few questions. I am consdering buying the safety primer but am not sure if it takes a particular style shell holder. Also is it worth getting or will the turret mounted priming device be good enough? I am planning on starting off slowly with .38 special and .357 mag. I was considering the single stage press, but on further consideration and for a little more money I am starting to think the turret is a better idea. I want to use it as a single stage at first, then as I become more experienced I can benefit from the higher output capabilities. I also like being able to buy additional turrets later so that I could set up different calibers without much fuss. Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated as I am a newbie.

versifier
11-08-2007, 04:33 PM
Hi gaston_r,
Welcome. So you want to start loading your own.....

Your original idea of starting with a single stage press is the best and safest way to go. I teach reloading and recommend that you wait on a turret until you have a thorough understanding of each step of the process. Even if you are using a turret press as a "single stage" (does that mean that you will have only one die mounted on the press at a time?) it is so easy to skip a step and wind up with an uncharged or double charged case if you are distracted or interrupted. Better and safer is to take each batch of cases through one step at a time and to charge them in a loading block so that the powder level in each case can be inspected before seating bullets. After you have loaded a few thousand rounds and if you are loading and shooting a big enough volume to justify it, then you can decide if a turret's the way you need to go (my cutoff is 1000rds/month to move up to a turret).