PDA

View Full Version : guide for weights

campbaker
03-06-2007, 01:39 PM
i need some information:

hello all, i am a newbee to reloading. i need some help. can someone please
tell me where to find a conversion weight chart.

I NEED TO FIND A CHART THAT SHOWS THE FOLLOWING

CONVERTING POUNDS TO COMMON WEIGHTS USED BY RELOADERS.

TO BE ABLE TO FIGURE THE COST OF A LOAD. I AM A BAKER & USE WEIGHTS CONSTANTLY. SO I NEED TO FIND THIS INFORMATION, IT SEEMS THAT ALL THE INFORMATION SHOULD BE EASY TO FIND, YET I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO
FIND THIS.

I AM SURE THAT SOME ARE LAUGHING AT THIS REQUEST, I HAVE REALLY TRIED,
AND I CAN'T UNDERSTAND WHY.

THANK YOU

kg42
03-06-2007, 09:06 PM
I started laughing then I realized you said baker and not banker... I've done that kind of stuff to compare surplus powders and regular ones and it's easier, safer and more rewarding to make your own :); but I think they are online calculators.

yep...: http://www.beartoothbullets.com/rescources/index.htm

now they need a shpell saker ;)

anyway, my way goes:
454 grams in a pound
15.43 grains in a gram (.0648 grams in a grain ?)
very few common weights as you've got to know calibers, bullet weights, level of loads and what your guns like.

So, I don't have a calculator here but it should look like:

(price per pound)/(454x15.43)=price per grain....multiply by your load in grains for the price per load.

(454x15.43)/(your load)=loads per pound

I'll try to find tables in my bookmarks.

kg

PS: just to be sure, a grain is a weight measure and not the actual flake/ball/tube.

Did I make sense?

versifier
03-07-2007, 12:42 AM