PDA

View Full Version : Powder and Reloading

Taylor
01-15-2007, 01:29 PM
I suppose by some of my question's that you folk's have figgered out I am really new to reloading and casting.Actually, about 2 years experience under the belt.But I have had a rifle in my hand since I was a little guy growing up in the east Kentucky mountians,when my Dad expected me to be able to shoot the fuzzy balls off a Sycamore tree with a .22. Sorry if that sounded long winded.But to my point,when I first decided to reload,(casting seemed to be the natural thing to follow),simply ,I knew nothing,so I gave Hodgdon a call.( no one else seemed to want to waste their time with me,Hodgdon talked to me).Told them I would be reloading .30 cal.(30.30,30.06) and 7mm Mauser,and what would be the one powder that would sustain all my needs.I was told to use Varget.Now I have had no problems with it, but since I don't know any better,I don't know if I can do better.But I do know that not all loads use Varget.Sometimes you just have to adapt and overcome.I use #2 alloy for my boolits.Now I have learned alot in these 2 years,but thank God for this web site and all the knowledgeable people.Should I have different powders for different rounds? Or should I stay were I am and leave well enough alone?Thanks guys.

versifier
01-15-2007, 05:46 PM