PDA

View Full Version : Nickel-plated brass

klausg
05-01-2006, 02:01 PM
Hey gang-
I just got a mess, (1000 rds) of nickel-plated brass on a bargain, and I am now hearing rumors that it's not good to reload the stuff; the rumors vary from "don't use it" to "it will leave deposits on your carbide sizer die". Can you guys either confirm or de-bunk these rumors. I have always reloaded the stuff in the past, (not in these amounts, just what I picked up here & there) with no problems; but I'd rather not trash my dies if I can help it. Thanks much in advance.:-D

-SSG Klaus

versifier
05-01-2006, 06:11 PM
Try this: Take all such advice and pile it next to your vegetable garden. Cover it with black plastic and weight down the edges. Ignore it all summer. Spread it on the garden after first frost to fertilize next year's veggies. Be prepared for a bumper crop. :mrgreen:

Seriously, I have been using nickel-plated pistol and rifle brass for 30+ years with no ill effects on my dies. If anything, they are in my opinion easier on carbide dies because there is no oxidation on the outsides of the cases and stuff is less likely to stick there. Grit is what ruins sizing dies, regular or carbide, although dropping a carbide sizer on a concrete floor will shatter one. :shock: (Don't ask.)

Decent brass that's properly cared for won't cause you any problems at all. I don't even clean my brass - never have. I do keep it clean, usually in plastic ammo boxes, and am careful to wipe off any cases that hit the ground before returning them to the storage boxes. I estimate that my .38/.357 carbide sizer has seen much more than 10,000 rounds through it, and that's a very conservative estimate - it was bought in 1977 and I shoot more of it than anything else (2500 loaded last year, about average, almost 700 so far this year and I really haven't started shooting yet). There are no signs of wear on the carbide sizing ring.