PDA

View Full Version : Choosing the right sizing die

geoguy
02-24-2012, 04:53 AM
I am new to the cast boolit world and would like to cast for 9mm, 357 mag, 40 Smith, 44 Mag and 45 ACP. In looking at the catalogs the range of sizing dies is nearly infinite and I am not sure what die I should use. For example, 357, the choices include .356, .357, .358 and more. I realize the choice is complicated buy the type of gun, intended use, casting alloy, etc.. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

PS, I've got to get going before the sun comes out again in N Id and my KLR starts whining because of lack of attention!

versifier
02-24-2012, 06:22 AM
For 9mm, .358-.359" it just depends if the pistol can feed and chamber the larger size. Many can, but some can't. The larger ones will usually be more accurate because they obturate to the grooves better without gas cutting. I have a 6cav Lee RNTumbleLube mould that drops at a hair under .359. So far I have not needed to size any and have had no problems with them in four different 9mm pistols over the last two years. YMMV. Keep the alloy soft - use #2 or WW to pure lead in a 1:4 or 1:5 ratio and add 1% of tin for good fillout - Lino to pure 1:6 and add 1% tin. As long as the fits the bore (.001-.003" over groove diameter), you can keep the alloy soft.

For .357mag, .38spec, etc., I go with .360 both with GC and plain based bullets. Factory revolvers and single shots all chamber it easily. Slug and mic each chamber throat of a revolver's cylinder. If they're too tight relative to the barrel's forcing cone and groove diameters then they need to be opened to shoot cast accurately. Not a big job for a competent smith, doable by a careful amateur with patience and a goodly supply of barrel slugs. Same alloys as above for target loads, but for GC magnum hunting loads, harden it up a bit by reducing the ratio to 1:2 or 1:3. Don't use lino for hunting bullets, they shatter when they hit large bones.