PDA

View Full Version : cartridge oal question

jay
03-12-2011, 02:32 PM
Hello, I have been reloading on and off for many years and never really took the OAL very seriously. As long as it was within sammi specs it was ignored for my revolvers. With the automatics, i have read listings of max oal in the reload manuals and most of the time they are too long for the magazines close to specs.
So i change the oal to the maximum that will cycle in the kimber 45 acp and 380 auto magazines and pistols. Is this proper procedure or am i increasing the pressure too much if i make a .025 oal length change to the smaller side.
the casings after being fired show no excessive pressure signs.
thanks john

versifier
03-12-2011, 04:37 PM
Welcome to The Guide.

With the .45ACP and the .380 it is not really a big deal, as long as you don't go overboard and are not redlining your loads already. That is one good reason when you are shooting jacketed bullets to have a copy of the bullet manufacturer's loading manual as they will have workable and safe OAL's for their specific bullets. With higher pressure rounds like the 9mm, .40S&W, and 10mm, though, you really have to be careful.