PDA

View Full Version : Ultrasonic Cleaners

bcbulldog78
02-24-2010, 04:17 PM
First things first - I am new to the forums and wanted to say hello to everyone here. I have been shooting regularly for about 10 years and reloading for about 6 years. I am always on the lookout for new tricks and tips.

My real question here is do any of you have / use ultrasonic gun cleaners, and would you give them a thumbs up or down, reasons for why you feel the way you do about them, etc. Do they work well enough to get leading out of a barrel? I shoot IDPA matches at least once a month if not 2 or more and I am looking for new ways to clean my firearms without having to get out all of the chemicals, etc. They are fairly expensive and I don't want to get stuck with a piece of junk if they completely suck.

Thanks in advance for the help,

BCBULLDOG78

versifier
02-24-2010, 05:49 PM
Welcome to the Guide.

I really don't know how well they would work on a barrel, (logic says they ought to work reasonably well) but you can get a Lewis Tool from Brownells for much less than you can get any kind of cleaner. Nothing cleans out serious lead fouling better and no solvents are required. I have good results with Rig #44 solvent. It's one of the better lead solvents available and very easy to use.

But the bottom line is that it is always so much easier to prevent leading by using bullets that are larger in diameter and softer in alloy. Undersized and overly hard bullets are the cause of leading in pistol barrels 99% of the time.

kg42
02-25-2010, 06:56 AM
Hi bcbulldog, welcome aboard;

I'm curious about your hardware; is this only about the leading or about the goo in the gun too? Do the other competitors have similar problems?
I never use chemicals, only oil, towels/rags and elbow grease (but then I got rid of my stainless guns years ago...).

kg

bcbulldog78
02-25-2010, 09:34 PM