PDA

View Full Version : Unique vs. Bullseye for 10mm

gvanek
05-13-2009, 07:49 PM
I wanted to use Unique for my .45 and 10mm, and possible a .40 in the future. There are recipes for all of these cartridges. BUT, I can't find any Unique!!! Same for Blue Dot...none to be found. I can get Bullseye(I think) but, no listed recipes for the 10mm. However, there is a recipe for the .40 using Bullseye. The obvious question is: Can I use this formula as a starting point for the 10mm?

...and yes, I am a beginner.[smilie=s:

runfiverun
05-13-2009, 11:05 PM
the 10 is basically a 40 magnum but since it was first i guess the 40 is the 10mm special.
bullseye is a tad fast for my tastes.
if i couldn't find a recipe for a powder[ and i had it] i would just call the powder maker ALLIANT in this case, and ask them.
you get to talk to an actual individual.
there may be a reason why they don't show it. maybe not.

Jim_Fleming
05-15-2009, 02:36 AM
From what I'm hearing from the Gun Dealers in my area, all components including primers and gun powders are getting scarce...

I too love/like Unique powder, it's versatile and effective. But I couldn't get Unique from www.PotterCountyOutfitters.com they were simply out of it, and don't know when or if they're going to get more... Instead I settled for something pretty close. Herco... I bought every kernal they had. 6lbs.

Folks are stocking up... Let's hope it's not for the hard times we're all deathly afraid of... enough of that... that's off topic...

Take Care,

Jim

gvanek
05-15-2009, 04:35 PM
I lucked out. Went to the local shop to buy the Bullseye they were holding for me just as a shipment arrived. Bought 4 lbs of Unique(smallest container available).

I'm good for a while.

runfiverun
05-15-2009, 06:37 PM
they had larger like 8 lb and 12 lb ?
unique was about the hardest powder to get for quite a while.
now it's rifle stuff.

gvanek
05-15-2009, 06:43 PM
Only 4's. nothing else larger or smaller.(i would have bought a 1 pounder...)