PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here...

gvanek
05-06-2009, 09:05 PM
Hey guys. Just getting re-started. Reloaded several years(15 yrs) ago with my older brother and a family friend. I didn't do any calculating, just handle pulling at that time. I'm familiar with the basics ONLY. Now, getting back into it. Questions:

1) Will be loading primarily .40 S&W, 10mm, and .45 acp. To start, I'd like to use the same powder for all three. Looks like Unique would fill the bill. Comments? (recreational shooting only...probably abt. 5000 round per year)

2) Most formulas listed are for jacketed bullets. How should I adjust powder charge for cast bullet?(casting my own. I have access to plenty of lead and wheel weights)

Will be loading .38/.357 also.(will cover those later). Plenty more questions to follow. All comments welcome.

Thanks.

Greg

runfiverun
05-06-2009, 11:03 PM
unique will do for them as will titegroup.
your cast loads will be pretty close to jacketed just start low and work up.
the 38 and 45 will be the easiest to cast and load the lead for.
40's and 10mm's are high pressure rounds the fit and hardness will be critical.

versifier
05-06-2009, 11:49 PM
Another vote for Unique. With handguns, cast loads and jacketed loads are pretty much the same, unless you are loading the big boomers or shooting rifle cartridges in a Contender or an Encore.

gvanek
05-07-2009, 02:22 AM
thank you...

Will harden the .40 cast bullets by quenching, just to be safe...and will likely sit for at least a month prior to loading. I'm still in the "accumulation" stage regarding brass.

Any comments regarding 150 grain round nose, bevel base, in .40? Just ordered molds from Magma Engineering... I hope I didn't jump the gun, so to speak. I'll be shooting in my Glock 10mm. I've read where some have had issues running "lighter" projectiles in their .45 composite weapons...not generating enough pressure to operate the mechanism. Maybe I'm just reading too much...

Please comment...

versifier