PDA

View Full Version : Cast Lube

Total Safety
03-13-2009, 12:45 AM
Hello everyone
I'm new to cast "boolit" reloading and have a question about bullet lube. I'm using "super hard cast 158 swc .357" bullets and was wondering if I need to lube them. When I purchased them I was not advised to purchase any. There is a blue ring around the top of the bullet that seems like a lubercant. I purchased them from Kings shooting supply in King of Prussia, Pa. The people seemed knowledgable and friendly there. I would be loading light and just shooting for fun.(Like the rest of us)

versifier
03-13-2009, 01:13 AM
Welcome to RLG.

They should be good to go, as long as they are the proper diameter. The hard lubes that commercial casters use aren't anyone's favorites, but they work, mostly. If they've been around the shop forever and the lube is falling out, tumble lubing them wouldn't hurt and may help.

Generally the biggest problems I have with commercially cast bullets is that they are too hard and often undersized, :evil: a perfect recipe for lead fouling, but hard bullets work fine if they're large enough. Measure a few with a mic (not a caliper). If they really are .357" or less, shoot them in a 9mm and don't waste your time with them in a revolver. Usually they are at least .358" if they are 158gr and intended for revolvers. It doesn't make any difference at all what it says on the box, it's what the mic reads that matters.

If the revolver isn't right, no cast will shoot well in it. If the bullets are at least .358, give them a try with mild loads and see what happens. They may work fine. Think positive. Be happy. :-D