PDA

View Full Version : Cast loads for .357 mag carbine

SciFiJim
02-09-2009, 09:15 AM
I have been looking everywhere for rifle loads for cast .357 mag. Can anyone help me. I would like to use a heavier bullet. 180-185 grain? I will be shooting it with a Marlin 1893 carbine. I am just getting into reloading and any info would be appreciated.
Thanks
Jim

versifier
02-09-2009, 04:26 PM
It might not be easy finding a mould in that weight range. Most of the available ones are for much lighter bullets. They are out there, but it will take some patience to get your hands on one. Try Ranch Dog (a link is at the bottom of the Cast Boolits Forum page).

As for data, you can use jacketed data with handgun cartridges, even if they will be fired in rifles. Many manuals list separate loads for them, though. Get yourself copies of the Sierra Manual and Lyman Cast Bullet Handbook. Pressures will be lower, velocities higher than jacketed of the same weight. I would be using a Gas Check bullet, too.

If you want to shoot cast, you need to start by slugging your barrel to get your groove diameter. Measure the slug with a MIC, not a caliper. (Calipers are just not accurate enough to give you the data you need to do it right.) Then size the bullet .002-.003" above groove diameter.

Be aware that if you are contemplating using commercially cast bullets to "save" time or money, you will probably do neither. If the bullet is too small and too hard (most commercially cast offereings are) you are going to be scrubbing a LOT of lead out of your barrel. You will be hard put to find anything with a gas check, and you will have no choice about the lube - a crucial factor as a different lube is needed for use in rifles (higher pressures and velocities) and most are barely adequate for handguns. That is why many of us have taken up casting, too.

BTW, ALL copper fouling has to be removed from the barrel prior to shooting cast through it, too. Sweets is a good copper solvent.

Tom W.