Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Good 30-06 Load

GunLoad Trainee

Default Good 30-06 Load

Hey I am new to reloading and would like to know if you guys could recommend a good powder bullet combo to start with. Thnks

Reloading Fanatic!

I just started reloading for the 30-06 myself. I would recommend picking up the Hodgdon Reloading magazine or checking out their website. I had really good luck with Varget and WIN 760, but there are many loads to choose from. Any good 150 grain bullet would be good to start with, and I have had great luck with Hornady.

i'm assuming for general shooting and whitetail hunting.
    the hornady 150 at 2800 fps is hard to beat in either case.
    the powder you use will be whichever one you have the best access too.
    i like rl-19.
    it don't meter well and needs to have each load weighed out but the results are worth it.

Wink

out of my rem 700 30.06 I have had the best moa with 180gr. bullets, sierra spitzer boattail 2160 and the hornady interlock btsp 3072.
    IMR 4350 powder. 50.7 gr. 2500 fps. wlr primers.
    taken 3 deer in Alabama this season
    300winmag
    As I was told when I was a child; your elders will make you smarter if you listen. Then when you are older your edlers will teach you WISDOM.
    Thanks
    300winmag

Mine likes 47 grains of Varget with a 180 gr. GameKing.
    I've since had it rechambered to a 30/06 A.I., but it still prefers the heavy bullets.

IMR 4350 is a great powder also, but it's a bit more recoil that I care to subject myself to. I want to enjoy what I'm doing. I'll leave the big boomers to my son. He likes the 340 Weatherby mags and such..
    Tom

Warning! Does NOT play well with others!

GunLoad Trainee

In my Winchester 70 in 3006 I use IMR 4350 and IMR 4831 with Win primers and Hornady bullets.

The 30 cal 308 dia 220 grain has slammed down 4 moose up here in the far north.