PDA

View Full Version : Barnes Bullets

ancestor
08-26-2016, 01:00 AM
I am thinking about extending the bullet range to my 8x57 Mauser. The range of available bullets is fairly abysmal for the poor old 8x57 which is in the 30-06 bracket power wise. I tried to locate Highland 175 grain 0.323 dia and though highland cartridges are on sale here I cannot get anywhere with actual components even though the list them. I removed and measured one up, calculated barrel twist and all looked good however this is where it has stayed. I am now looking at a 160 grain Barnes triple shock boat tail X bullets. are still close enough for barrel twist and are available. I have no experience with Barnes but their principle seems appealing. Any advice would be greatly appreciated
Ancestor

Kirbydoc
08-26-2016, 01:06 AM
Barnes makes nice bullets. They are careful about quality but I have limited experience with them ancestor. I have only shot targets with the .224 version.

ancestor
08-26-2016, 05:13 AM
Thanks Kirbydoc. I have located the bullets and am in the process of arranging to buy. i will work up loads on this and may take the old girl up to meet a tahr all going well.

versifier
08-26-2016, 12:29 PM
I have to say that the 8x57 is one of my all time favorite cartridges. That said, all I shoot from mine is cast bullets (great for target work and medium sized game out to 150yds or so). Not much use for the longer shots you'd be making, but if you want some cast bullet data I'm happy to provide some. :mrgreen:

As to Barnes bullets, their hunting bullets are top performers for longer range hunting. Not every barrel likes them though. Solid copper, they are less dense and have a greater length/bearing surface than a lead core bullet of the same weight. Some barrels have the twist rate that can handle that, some do not. I have loaded their lighter 6.5's and some heavy .30's. No game taken yet with any of them, but my bud's -06 loves them on paper.