PDA

View Full Version : prairie dog hunt first time need advice

skinbood
04-27-2006, 12:55 AM
I'm considering going to South Dakota this July for some prairie dog shooting. This is my first time so If anyone has any information on where to go or who to contact Iwould appreicate the help. There will be three of us and we have a limited budget. Thanks for any help you can give me.:-D

lovedogs
04-27-2006, 02:48 AM
I live in prairie poodle country so am quite familiar with it. My advice is for you to get some BLM maps and hunt gov't land. Of course, you can't shoot them until June 1st on gov't land. But if you go to a private property many will charge you nowadays to shoot them. Contact a game warden or any gov't office who can direct you to good areas with lots of 'dogs. Usually local BLM, Bureau of Reclamation, etc. know about 'doggin spots.

Any good, accurate .22 centerfire will do. I use rifles and Contenders in .222, .223, and .22-.250's mostly. Any good scope from a 2.5X8 on up will work, depending on how far you want to shoot. A good .223 with a 4X12 is hard to beat. Most good shots will be at less than 300 yds. If you're really shooting long-range a .22-.250 and more glass works well.

If I can help any more, just ask. We here in eastern Mt. shoot lots of p.dogs. So do the folks in both of the Dakotas.

dale clawson
05-18-2006, 12:04 AM
Skinblood: Take plenty of ammo! I would also take 2 or three guns so that you won't be so apt to burn your barrel out from overheating it. In a good town that hasn't seen much shooting, you can easily overheat a barrel. I take a ground cloth and some sand bags, binoculars, hearing protection, cleaning equipment, etc. I have used a portable bench, but find that if I use the ground cloth and get prone I get more shots, maybe because the lower profile is less threatening. A word of warning, the fleas on prarie dogs in our area ( Texas panhandle) have been known to carry bubonic plague. Insect repellent and caution are in order.