PDA

View Full Version : 30-06 Bullets

FF1706
10-02-2011, 01:32 AM
OK I'm new to reloading i have a concern. I ordered my bullets they are Hornady GMx .308. Im using a federal brass shell. my question is that the soft points that are orginally in the factory bullet is a soft point which is shorter than the length of my GMx bullets. Will it Matter if my GMX bullet are seat deeper inside the shell due to the length of it.

The Hornady GMX bullet is 1.424 inches
The Factory bullet is 1.117 inches

If anyone could help me i would apperiate it .

303tom
10-02-2011, 04:07 AM
You are right, your round has to have a OAL, longer bullets must seat deeper.

FF1706
10-02-2011, 01:41 PM
Thank you I was just worried that it would mess my rifle up

versifier
10-02-2011, 04:05 PM
Many longer/heavier bullets require seating with the bullet's base well below the bottom of the case neck. What loading manuals do you have? (You should have a MINIMUM of three current manuals - world's most inexpensive life insurance.) The Hornady manual should list their recommended OAL for that bullet/cartridge, and you can probably find it on their website, too.

When in doubt, start with the manufacturer's suggested OAL until you have tested and found the optimal charge of the powder you have selected. Then you can start playing with seating depth to fine tune the load. Due to the different nose profiles of different bullets, the optimal OAL for your rifle will also be different for each. Pressure is always lower and accuracy is often improved when you can seat to a longer OAL, but just how much longer depends upon the design of both your rifle's magazine and chamber. For a large game hunting rifle it is not usually a major issue, but for a varmint or target rifle it can be.

Paul B
10-02-2011, 04:29 PM