PDA

View Full Version : 22 cast bullet loads.

tinbullet
08-14-2011, 04:42 AM
Hello to all!

As of 10pm 8-13-11 I was a neube on this sight.
I've been reloading for 30 years and casting bullets my own bullets for at least 3 years.

I have a 223 rem heavy 26" 1:12 twist barrel rifle.
The barrel sluged at .224.

I am asking anyone if they have any favorite powder(s) and powder charges for for my caliber bullet combination. From what I have read I believe I should stay near the low 1900-2200 fps range.

I've cast some RCBS 22-055-SP 55 gr. lead bullets at 14-15 BHN
The bullets are gas checked, sized at .225 and lubed with lithi-bee red.
I have test fired some samples using 10gr. of 2400 powder that chronographed at 2150 FPS.
I have also have Unique and Hodgdon H335 available along with CCI small rifle primers.

I'm just interested in what others may have tried.

TINBULLET

versifier
08-14-2011, 02:34 PM
I have no experience with the lube you're using, but I have had no problem pushing 55gr GC bullets above 2500fps without leading in other .22 centerfire cartridges. They were cast of lino, lubed with Liquid Alox, and sized .002-.003 over groove diameter, depending on the barrel.

Did you measure your slug with calipers or a micrometer? Calipers are just not accurate enough, even if they have a digital readout to four decimal places they are only accurate to .01 +/- .005. That's fine for measuring OAL, but not good enough for real precision where you need a micrometer. If your groove diameter is .224, then you may see some serious leading at the higher velocities without upping the size a bit. No barrel I've ever met can read however, and some, especially in the smaller calibers, do fine .001 over groove, but I have met both kinds.

Lyman's Cast Bullet Handbook has plenty of .223 data for pistol and some rifle powders for GC bullets from 37-54gr.