PDA

View Full Version : is there an esier way to primed milatarybrass

_MIg_
06-07-2011, 08:15 AM
i finaly gotten back to reloading, but having troble with milatary brass. Seems some milatary brass have an extra thing where the prime go in. i dontknow what it is called but looks like a small metal belt, anyhow the 1st time i try to put in the primer i couldnt get it to go in all the way.Now i have 4 cases with primers sticking out. I have use a round file to kinda round the edge and it seems to work for some but others well not so. i have check and i pick up quite a bit of this brass and i have check it and all is good except this problem. Im still a noob at reloading so any advice is wellcome. OH lol and i do tumble my brass and add brass cleaner to the tumbler, lol i like my brass prerrty.

Guesser
06-07-2011, 01:52 PM
I have used my case mouth chamfer tool to remove the primer pocket crimp if I only had to do a few, very tiring. I have used a drill bit in a slow speed cordless drill, I don't remember which size, you can experiment. There are tools made just for the purpose, some work, almost, some work a little and some are pretty good, but if you only have to do a couple hundred try the drill bit method, slowly, carefully. Good shooting!!!!!!!!!

versifier
06-07-2011, 04:49 PM
Most mil rifle brass has crimped-in primers. The crimp must be removed and the edge of the primer pocket beveled before you can seat any primers. Once done, you can load the cases normally for the rest of their working life. You can either ream them (whick uses a cutter to remove a bit of metal) or swage them (which used mechanical pressure to force the brass of the pocket back to the correct size/shape).