PDA

View Full Version : A good 30-06 Powder

Cpanic222
12-26-2010, 09:10 PM
Hey I am new to reloading and was hoping that someone could recommend a good powder to do some hunting rounds with. I have heard that the IMR4350 is a good place to start. Any Opinions? Please.

300winmag
12-26-2010, 10:10 PM
IMR4350 good powder, loads ranging from 130gr bullets to 220gr. bullets
300winmag

runfiverun
12-27-2010, 12:30 AM
that and rl-19,4831,4895.
rl-19 is a pain to meter out and i weigh all loads from it, but it has been very accurate with 150 and 165 gr bullets.
it has done very well in 3 different 0-6's iv'e loaded for.

versifier
12-27-2010, 01:43 AM
... and there's IMR 3031 & 4064, too.

But, the only opinion that really matters is your rifle's. I know the list of appropriate powders is rather lengthy and that can be intimidating when you're starting out. The reason the list is so long is that there are a lot of powders that work well in someone's -06. Your rifle will likely perform well with several of them. Remember also that if the first one you try doesn't give you hoped for results, it might be the bullet and not the powder, so be sure to try more than one brand of bullet as well as more than one weight before you write off the powder. I'd try 150 & 165gr bullets from several different companies, like for instance Sierra, Hornady, Speer, and/or Remington. FWIW, it is a rare rifle IME that won't shoot Sierra GK's or PH's well (not always THE most accurate, but 90+% of the time in the top two choices). YMMV. Like with women, some rifles can be very picky about what gets put into them, others will be much easier to live with and be happy with a wider range of choices.

Here are three things you can think about...