PDA

View Full Version : .308 In a .303 Brit?

CGross609
08-23-2010, 05:39 AM
So I'm just beginning to get the hang of handloading, but i'm having a hard time finding .311 diam bullets for my Parker & Hale Sporterized 303. I can't seem to find them in Bass Pro or any local gun stores, so i started loading .308 bullets into my brass. They give mediocre accuracy with IMR 4895 an even worse with 4320. Right now i have 20 or so loads with Sierra Varminter 110gr hollow points. They push 3000-3100 fps with 40.0 gr of 4895. Any tips or tricks to help me improve my accuracy? (Without the obvious of using actual .311's please? )

Cheers,
Cody.

kg42
08-23-2010, 07:01 AM
Heavier bullets might be more adapted to the barrel twist.

Buy surplus 7.62x54R and pull the bullets. Actually you should slug your barrel first as some of them 303 were as big as 32/8mm.

Paper patch. Ross Seyfried wrote an article for Handloader Mag; he used patched jacketed bullets for slightly bigger obsolete british calibers.
Some have used adhesive paper (address tags for mail?).

kg

Toney
08-23-2010, 01:17 PM
I use the 312 hornady bullets for the 303.
The #3120 SP 150gr bullet has worked very good. Got three deer with it last year.

runfiverun
08-23-2010, 02:17 PM
that 150 gr interlock is a good bullet as is thier 174 rn.
my number 4 prefers the sierra pro hunters in 311.
you should measure your bbl as i have seen 303's all over the map
from 308 up through 317.
the obvious is actually the best answer. if your bullets don't fit you will NEVER gain any appreciable accuracy.
and you will have lower velocities, and lots of fouling.
look online, midway, graf and sons, wideners, pats reloading.
all should have a selection of 311-312 diameter bullets.

versifier
08-23-2010, 04:46 PM
Welcome to the Guide.