PDA

View Full Version : .243 case weights

padd54
01-07-2009, 03:28 AM
So, I had a little time on my hands and decided to weigh the cases out of a new 100ct bag of Winchester cases for my 243win.

Here is how it turned out;

160.9-161.5gn = 19cases
161.6-162.2gn = 33cases
162.3-162.6gn = 27cases
162.7-163.5gn = 22cases

This gave a total of 101cases in a 100case bag. Smile

Is there enough deviation to matter, if so where would you draw the lines?

I have a Howa/Axiom that I want as accurate as possible and youth model for my grandson that just be to able to hit 2" at 100yrds.

Thanks for your help,

TCPSTLSHTR
01-07-2009, 04:48 AM
I'm by no means an expert, but have you full length sized the cases and trimmed them all the same length and measured the neck thickness?
I'm sure there are probably a lot of other variables that may come in to play as well.

padd54
01-07-2009, 04:56 AM
No, these are fresh out of the bag. I will check them again once I have them ready for loading.

I just thought this was interesting.

TCPSTLSHTR
01-07-2009, 05:09 AM
Sorry to say, but in my experience, unless you buy match cases, what u got from production run brass, is not unusual....

runfiverun
01-10-2009, 08:51 PM
161 to 163 isn't that bad at all.
i would size trim and cut primer pockets then weigh them.
then run them over a run out guage, after loading, and only use the ones with the least run out to them to shoot the small groups.
but if you only want 2" groups i would just trim them and load them i bet your rifle does better then 2" already.

versifier
01-11-2009, 02:19 AM